1996 Forum Elections: Candidates in South Belfast

map 1results graph

The following list of candidates is arranged in order of votes by party. The names in bold are those of the candidates elected in the constituency of South Belfast. (spreadsheet)

Ulster Unionist Party: 8,617 (22.8%): Robert Stoker, James Clarke, Michael McGimpsey, Drew Nelson, Gordon Lucy

Social Democratic and Labour Party: 7,956 (21.0%): Alisdair McDonnell, Peter O'Reilly, Carmel Hanna, Douglas Arthur Hegney, Rosaleen Hughes

Democratic Unionist Party: 5,818 (15.4%): Joan Parkes, Thomas Scott, John Norris

Alliance Party: 4,689 (12.4%): Steve McBride, Philip McGarry, Margaret Marshall

Sinn Fein: 2,455 (6.5%): Sean Hayes, Sean Clinton, Deborah Moore

Progressive Unionist Party: 2,321 (6.1%): Dawn Purvis, Victor Murphy

United Kingdom Unionist Party: 1,750 (4.6%): Patrick Roche, Kate Garrett

Ulster Democratic Party: 1,666 (4.4%): David Adams, Pauline Wilma Gilmore

Northern Ireland Women's Coalition: 947 (2.5%): Kate Fearon, Annie Campbell, Barbara McCabe, Claire McLaughlin, Fidelma O'Gorman

Labour: 333 (0.9%): Peter Hadden, Eleanor Rogers, Niall Cusack, Neil House, Maeve Cross

Green Party: 314 (0.8%): Mary Carberry, Jane Carney, Owen Clarke, Andy Frew

The Conservative Party: 279 (0.7%): Myrtle Boal, Alan McKelvey

Workers Party: 270 (0.7%): Paddy Lynn, Ian Foster

Democratic Partnership: 133 (0.4%): Paul Smyth, Alison Wilson

Ulster Independence Movement: 108 (0.3%): Gordon Smyth, Samuel Stevenson

Democratic Left: 96 (0.3%): Jean Craig, Chris Skillen

Ulster Christian Democratic Party: 31 (0.08%): Austin Scallan, Martine McLaughlin, John McLaughlin, Brian McLaughlin, Margaret Gibson

Natural Law Party: 13 (0.03%): James Anderson, Morris Ahmed

Independent Chambers: 5 (0.01%): Bertha Burleigh, Mark Strain

Electorate: 63,890; votes cast: 37,897; spoilt votes: 89 (0.2%); valid votes: 37,808 (99.8%)

Full list of 1996 candidates: East Belfast | North Belfast | South Belfast | West Belfast | East Antrim | North Antrim | South Antrim | North Down | South Down | Fermanagh and South Tyrone | Foyle | Lagan Valley | East Londonderry | Mid Ulster | Newry and Armagh | Strangford | West Tyrone | Upper Bann | Regional List

Other sites based at ARK: ORB (Online Research Bank) | CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) | Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey

Your comments, please! Send an email to me at nicholas.whyte@gmail.com.

This page has been developed with the support of a project grant from the New Initiatives Fund of the Electoral Commission. However, any views expressed on this page or, in particular, other pages of this website are those of the author and not necessarily shared by The Electoral Commission.
Tineke Vaes, 15 May 2003.

Disclaimer: Nicholas Whyte 1998-2004 Last Updated on Wednesday, 12-Jan-2005 12:12