1996 Forum Elections: Candidates in East Belfast

map 1results graph

The following list of candidates is arranged in order of votes by party. The names in bold are those of the candidates elected in the constituency of East Belfast. (spreadsheet) 

Democratic Unionist Party: 11,270 (29.4%): Peter Robinson, Samuel Wilson, Robert Newton, Irene Lewis, Wallace Browne

Ulster Unionist Party: 8,608 (22.5%): Reg Empey, Jim Rodgers, Ian Adamson, Alan Crowe

Alliance Party: 7,130 (18.6%): John Alderdice, Peter Osborne, Danny Dow, Mervyn Jones, Maureen McConnell

Progressive Unionist Party: 3,802 (9.9%): David Ervine, Patricia Laverty, Rosemary Reynolds, John McQuillen, Alec Gordon

United Kingdom Unionist Party: 2,496 (6.5%): Alan Field, Maureen Ann McCartney

Social Democratic and Labour Party: 1,299 (3.4%): Peter Prendiville, Brian Heading

Ulster Democratic Party: 1,156 (3.1%): Robert Girvan, Jacqueline Upton, Ronald Stitt, Samuel Walkingshaw, Joseph McMaster

Sinn Fein: 862 (2.2%): Michael McVeigh, Brid Duffy, Anna Doherty

Northern Ireland Women's Coalition: 405 (1.1%): Felicity Huston, Pearl Sagar, Annie Quinn, Kate Campbell, Karen Snoddy

The Conservative Party: 291 (0.8%): Ian Donaldson, Dorothy Dunlop

Labour: 199 (0.5%): Gail Haslett, Thomas Black, Barbara Hawites, David Bell, Maeve O'Leary

Democratic Partnership: 197 (0.5%): David Bleakley, Edwin Sloan

Green Party: 161 (0.4%): Similda Osoba, April McCarthy

Workers Party: 149 (0.4%): Joe Bell, Marie Mooney

Ulster Independence Movement: 114 (0.3%): Gavin Boyd, Mark Black, David McClinton

Independent Democratic Unionist Party: 93 (0.2%): Jean Toad, David Kerr

Democratic Left: 45 (0.1%): Michael Craig, June Campion

Communist Party of Ireland: 38 (0.1%): Andrew Gibb, Sarah Stewart

Natural Law Party: 13 (0.03%): Robert Johnstone, Richard Johnson, Ian Long

Independent Chambers: 11 (0.02%): Ian Arbuthnot, Alan Hay

Electorate: 62,161; votes cast: 38,419; spoilt votes: 80 (0.2%); valid votes: 38,339 (98.0%)

Full list of 1996 candidates: East Belfast | North Belfast | South Belfast | West Belfast | East Antrim | North Antrim | South Antrim | North Down | South Down | Fermanagh and South Tyrone | Foyle | Lagan Valley | East Londonderry | Mid Ulster | Newry and Armagh | Strangford | West Tyrone | Upper Bann | Regional List

Other sites based at ARK: ORB (Online Research Bank) | CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) | Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey

Your comments, please! Send an email to me at nicholas.whyte@gmail.com.

This page has been developed with the support of a project grant from the New Initiatives Fund of the Electoral Commission. However, any views expressed on this page or, in particular, other pages of this website are those of the author and not necessarily shared by The Electoral Commission.

Tineke Vaes, 15 May 2003.

Disclaimer: Nicholas Whyte 1998-2004 Last Updated on Wednesday, 12-Jan-2005 12:12