1996 Forum Elections: Candidates in Lagan Valley

mapresults graph

The following list of candidates is arranged in order of votes by party. The names in bold are those of the candidates elected in the constituency of Lagan Valley. (spreadsheet)
Ulster Unionist Party: 16,367 (37.7%): Jeffrey Donaldson, David Campbell, Ivan Davis, William Dillon, William Bell

Democratic Unionist Party: 9,592 (22.1%): Cecil Calvert, Edwin Poots

Alliance Party: 4,508 (10.4%): Seamus Close, Frazer McCammond, Mary Clark-Glass, Bill Whitley, Betty Campbell

Social Democratic and Labour Party: 4,001 (9.2%): Peter O'Hagan, Hugh Lewsley

Ulster Democratic Party: 3,087 (7.1%): Gary McMichael, Philip Dean

United Kingdom Unionist Party: 2,172 (5.0%): Ronnie Crawford, Graeme Jardin

Sinn Féin: 1,132 (2.6%): Patrick Rice, Michael Ferguson, Susan Ramsey

Progressive Unionist Party:
1,072 (2.5%): David Kirk, Wilfred Cummings

Northern Ireland Women's Coalition: 520 (1.2%): Jane Wilde, Fidelma Carson, Sandra Craig, Bronya Bonar, Margaret Darcy

The Conservative Party: 386 (0.8%): William Baird, Mary Love

Green Party: 175 (0.4%): Malachy McAnespie, George Thompson, Penny Kemp

Ulster Independence Movement: 164 (0.4%): Carolyne Chance, Allan Thompson, James Kelley

Labour: 143 (0.3%): Ciaran Mulholland, William McAvoy

Workers Party: 72 (0.2%): Frances McCarthy, John Magee

Democratic Left: 43 (0.1%): Liam Napier, Oliver Frawley

Natural Law Party: 18 (0.03%): Duncan Paterson, Susanna Thompson

Independent Chambers: 3 (0.01%): Eric Brown, Gary Strain

Electorate: 70,045; votes cast: 43,482; spoilt votes: 27 (0.06%); valid votes: 43,455

Full list of 1996 candidates: East Belfast | North Belfast | South Belfast | West Belfast | East Antrim | North Antrim | South Antrim | North Down | South Down | Fermanagh and South Tyrone | Foyle | Lagan Valley | East Londonderry | Mid Ulster | Newry and Armagh | Strangford | West Tyrone | Upper Bann | Regional List

Other sites based at ARK: ORB (Online Research Bank) | CAIN (Conflict Archive on the INternet) | Northern Ireland Life and Times Survey

Your comments, please! Send an email to me at nicholas.whyte@gmail.com.

This page has been developed with the support of a project grant from the New Initiatives Fund of the Electoral Commission. However, any views expressed on this page or, in particular, other pages of this website are those of the author and not necessarily shared by The Electoral Commission.
Tineke Vaes, 15 May 2003


Disclaimer:© Nicholas Whyte 1998-2004 Last Updated on Wednesday, 12-Jan-2005 12:12